Lakers Excel at Development: O'Reilly goes 1st overall in OHL Draft, News (Huron Perth Lakers)


News Article
News Article Image
May 10, 2007 | tgoetz | 3070 views
Lakers Excel at Development: O'Reilly goes 1st overall in OHL Draft
The recent OHL draft highlighted 3 Lakers Alumni with Tyler Kuntz going in the 14th round to the Owen Sound Attack and Pat Looby going in the 10th round to the London Knights. Varna's own Ryan O'Reilly, a six year Lakers veteran, stole the show going 1st overall to the Erie Otters. The Lakers are extremely proud of how these young men have worked to realize their dreams, they are an inspiration to many. 

Ryan O’Reilly received the Jack Ferguson Award as the player selected first overall in the OHL Priority Selection. O’Reilly joins previous “Fergie” award winners such as John Tavares, Jason Spezza, Alyn McCauley, and Kirk Muller as recipients of this prestigious distinction.

Although a six year Lakers veteran, O’Reilly spent this past season with the Toronto Jr. Canadiens minor midgets where he collected 31 goals and 43 assists for 74 points in 50 games. The 16 year-old from Varna, Ontario also played five games (one regular season and four playoff) with the Toronto Jr. Canadiens of the Ontario Provincial Junior A Hockey League collecting three goals.

“We are excited to make this young man a part of our team,” said Otters General Manager and Managing Partner Sherry Bassin. “Ryan is a tremendously talented player who will help our hockey team as we continue to move forward. On top of that, he is also an outstanding individual who comes from a caring family and possesses all the values that we, as an organization, consider to be extremely important when it comes to putting together the pieces of a successful team.”

“Ryan O’Reilly is a premier offensive talent in this year’s Priority Selection and has produced all season long, leading his team into the OHL Cup,” said Rob Kitamura, OHL Director of Central Scouting and Player Development.” Erie Otters fans are going to enjoy watching Ryan showcase his dynamic abilities over the course of his OHL career.”

An interview with Ryan aired on AM920 CKNX radio’s Hometown Heroes segment this past week. To listen to the interview use the controls below.

Or if you are having difficulties, click this link.

(Thank-you to AM920 CKNX for providing this interview and the Erie Otters for Ryan's photograph.)

The league's website,, features the Priority Selection results by round, by team, alphabetically as well as selected player information and photographs.

Jack Ferguson Award History

The "Fergie" is presented annually to the player selected first overall in the Ontario Hockey League Priority Selection. The award recognizes the dedication and contributions made by Jack Ferguson during his 25 year association with the Ontario Hockey League, first as a scout with the Ottawa 67's and followed by his appointment as head of the OHL's Central Scouting Bureau in 1981 as its Director of Central Scouting.

Past Winners of the Jack Ferguson Award:

Year Player Team

1981 Dan Quinn, Belleville Bulls
1982 Kirk Muller, Guelph Storm
1983 Trevor Stienburg, Guelph Storm
1984 Dave Moylan, Sudbury Wolves
1985 Bryan Fogarty, Kingston Frontenacs
1986 Troy Mallette, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds
1987 John Uniac, Sudbury Wolves
1988 Drake Berehowsky, Kingston Frontenacs
1989 Eric Lindros, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds
1990 Pat Peake, Detroit Jr. Red Wings
1991 Todd Harvey, Detroit Jr. Red Wings
1992 Jeff O'Neill, Guelph Storm
1993 Alyn McCauley, Ottawa 67’s
1994 Jeff Brown, Sarnia Sting
1995 Daniel Tkaczuk, Barrie Colts
1996 Rico Fata, London Knights
1997 Charlie Stephens, Toronto St. Michael’s Majors
1998 Jay Harrison, Brampton Battalion
1999 Jason Spezza, Mississauga IceDogs
2000 Patrick Jarrett, Mississauga IceDogs
2001 Patrick O'Sullivan, Mississauga IceDogs
2002 Rob Schremp, Mississauga IceDogs
2003 Patrick McNeill, Saginaw Spirit
2004 John Hughes, Belleville Bulls
2005 John Tavares, Oshawa Generals
2006 Steven Stamkos, Sarnia Sting
2007 Ryan O’Reilly, Erie Otters
Dunny's Source for Sports
Dunny's Source for Sports is a sporting goods and team uniforms retailer located in St. Marys and Stratford, Ontario. Dunny's sells sports apparel and footwear, as well as sports equipment for baseball, hockey and soccer. Dunny's has been a family owned business. Since 1987, Dunny’s is part of the national buying group Sports Distributors of Canada, allowing Dunny’s to compete in the ever competitive sporting goods industry and give the knowledge and service that customers deserve.